Community » Resources

Resources

Access St. Luke's privacy statement and vaccine information statement here.
You can also download the consent forms here.

Surgeon General Jerome Adams: Protect Against the Measles

 

Measles is a highly contagious respiratory disease caused by a virus. It spreads through the air through coughing and sneezing. Measles starts with a fever, runny nose, cough, red eyes, and sore throat, and is followed by a rash that spreads all over the body.

 

Measles is so contagious that if one person has it, 9 out of 10 people around that person will also become infected if they’re not yet vaccinated. You can get measles just by being in a room where a person with measles has been, even up to two hours after that person has left.  And what is even more worrisome is that an infected person can spread measles to others even before the infected person develops symptoms—from four days before they develop the measles rash through four days afterward.

 

The good news is that measles can be prevented with the MMR (measles, mumps, and rubella) vaccine. The MMR vaccine has an excellent safety record and is highly effective. It is one of the most effective vaccines we have in our country.

 

Surgeon General Adams hopes you will share his message with your networks. It’s up to us to protect the health of our communities.

 

For more information, please visit www.cdc.gov

 

 

Region 10 Staff

 

Renée Bouvion, MPH                                   Alia Fry, MPH

Renee.Bouvion@hhs.gov                             Alia.Fry@hhs.gov

Acting Regional Health Administrator       Regional Title X Family Planning Lead

 

Jesús Reyna, RN, LCDR, USPHS                   Aric Lane, MPA

Jesus.Reyna@hhs.gov                                   Aric.Lane@hhs.gov

Regional Minority Health Consultant         HIV/AIDS Regional Resource Consultant

 

Lewissa Swanson, MPA                                Crystal Dinh, MPH

Lewissa.Swanson@hhs.gov                          Crystal.Dinh@hhs.gov

Regional Women’s Health Coordinator      ORISE Fellow